Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


December 12, 2005

10:20 p.m.

The Kind of Day I Like Best

What a pleasant day. The only really adult things I did were to vacuum the kitchen and shovel some of the huge, half frozen pile of snow out from in front of my car so I can almost park in my designated space. It happens to be where the plow puts everything in the back driveway, so I have a bit less space since last week's storm. Fortunately my Scion isn't very long.

What else did I do with the day? Went on a fruitless search for a yarn store in the next town. I'm funny about going into places sometimes. I found this store on the web, and went by it this afternoon. But I was daunted by the fact that it's somebody's farm, not a regular store, and although there's a sign outside saying "Such and such Farm," and advertising knitting machines and yarn and a few other things, because it was a house I was afraid to go and knock. Because I thought I wouldn't be able to browse anonymously, and they'd want to help me, and I didn't want help because I wasn't looking for anything in particular. And, maybe mostly, because I don't have much money and can't afford any really nice yarn right now, and their prices might be high and the selection small because it's a small outfit. Or they might spin the yarn themselves and it might be exquisite but too costly for me to consider. So all these things suddenly came into play when I saw that it was a home-based business, and I didn't stop.

Someday. Someday I'll have a little money and it won't matter.

So I came back, and got a call from my friend Wes who was just talked into buying a car he's not sure he loves. I think he likes it all right, but the payment ends up being pretty high (like, more than my rent!) and it sounds like he was talked into it. Yikes.

We're gonna get together next week and go see Kong.

Then we had what seems to be our usual talk about things psychological, relationship issues, and general stuff. I like having a buddy in town.

I had leftover grilled swordfish and new potatoes, augmented with zucchini, for lunch, and heavens, it was good. I had to light incense to get the fish smell out of the apartment, but that was worth it. I fully intended to work out today but just didn't. Eh. I finished the mittens that match my new hat, and have started now on double knit mittens, which will serve me better in the colder weather.

What the hell else did I do? I don't know where the day goes. I played my guitar for a while. I checked email. I sorted laundry. I drank tea; later I drank wine. Dinner was sauteed mushrooms, more zucchini, and an Amy Burger with ketchup and real dang mayonnaise (thanks to bindyree for showing me the logic of just using the real stuff). There is no substitute.

I did not pay bills, but I opened them and wrote due dates on them and put them on the kitchen table, where they will soon be paid. I filed a little. I fantasized about playing my new song out somewhere. I partially cleaned the bathroom. I tended my plants. I ate cereal out of the box. I read Sherlock Holmes.

Most of all, I lived in my head and was disturbed very little by the world, which is the kind of day I like best.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!