Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


December 01, 2005

9:56 p.m.

Sprouts and Dreams

Listening to Kate Rusby sing ballads in her inimitable, warbly, faery way.

Cooking seems to appease something. I knew this morning I should practice and work out, but I did neither. I did get some things done, and didn't knit really til evening, but I think I don't want to look at my music career today. So I cooked.

I had all these sprouted lentils. I'd washed a whole package (2 cups) for a soup earlier in the week, then only used half. I couldn't put wet lentils back in the bag, so I sprouted them to buy myself some time. Today I found a couple of recipes online for them, one of which was really good. The other might be better with some tampering. But that's a way to use four honkin' cups of rooty legumes.

The stirfried, spicy ones cried out for raita, so I had to go back to the grocery store and get a cucumber and some yogurt and mint. It was SO good. I've eaten so many lentils this week it's amazing I'm not sick of them yet.

Then I had the urge to invent cookies, so I used some fruited muesli and almond butter to make seat of the pants, somewhat non-measured, chunky oaty cookies that are not too sweet and contain no white flour. It's the first time I didn't use a recipe for cookies, though I looked at a couple of other ones first as a guide. I must say I showed genius in the kitchen today.

And now I'm at once feeling guilty for not working out, yet in stubborn refusal over it.

********

So I knitted, and did errands, and fixed the window plastic in the bathroom, and cooked and cooked again, and watched old episodes of Northern Exposure, and remembered late in the day two dreams I had last night. In one, Rose and I were walking outside, and I interrupted her suddenly to point out a little brown toad that was hopping in the grass. We watched it and laughed at how cute it was. Rose is having bunion surgery on Saturday; I think the dream was to indicate that soon she will be littler-toed herself!

I have no explanation for the second dream, which was very silly. I was watching some people dancing outside, and folks were around watching, and a woman danced up and moved away from me. I noticed her skirt or dress was all hiked up to her waist, and she not only had no undies or stockings on whatsoever, but she looked really old and her butt and her legs were all saggy and hangin' down. I thought she must not realize her skirt was up, and what was she thinking showing off that old ass anyway?? When she got in a line with the other dancers she turned around, and the front of her skirt was hanging normally, near her knees. I thought she didn't look half bad from the front, maybe even not that old.

(It makes me think of that old Peanuts cartoon, where Lucy asks Linus why he only shines the toes of his shoes, and he replies, "I only care what people think of me as I enter a room. I don't care what they think of me as I leave!")

I wonder if this is pointing out to me my own fears of how I appear as I get older... having a birthday coming up soon, and thinking of how much there is... BEHIND me! You know, in Reiki, the back is the shadow side, and carries the issues one doesn't want to look at. D'you think?

Melancholy tonight as usual. Just talked to Dar, and told him about the cookies. While we talked I made up a little box to send him some. Now listening again to Kate, who can deliver a ballad with the best of them. Tomorrow I pick up my mouth guard from the dentist, then pick up the brake light cover from Toyota AGAIN, which I left behind last Tuesday; then to rehearsal. Home in the evening via Rose's, where I'll pick up a size 7 circular needle that has not been cut and glued back together. Life goes on; the weekend evolves; the gigs go by.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!