Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


November 30, 2005

11:33 p.m.

That's Took to You, Eh?

The first hat I've ever made is called a toque. It comes from the Spanish, toca, and the Basque tauka, a kind of cap. Websters explains that it is a small, plumed hat worn by men and women in the 16th century. More generically, it is a woman's small, round, closefitting, usually brimless hat. This one is a wee bit smaller than I would wear, but it's cute. When stretched vertically, the bright red stripes show. The top looks to me like a sandwich roll.




And then there are the first mittens I've ever knitted, which are almost the same size as each other and actually fit and are warm.





You have probably observed that the mittens are perched fetchingly on my Wallace & Gromit alarm clock.

Now if I can just get someone to pay me to knit by the hour, regardless of the outcome, I'd have a job.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!