Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


October 24, 2005

9:29 p.m.

The Most Interesting Monday

Hahaha, just as I was wondering what witchy thing to do this weekend, I picked up my mail and Dar has sent me several brochures of things going on in Salem, MA. To which famous city we're hieing ourselves on Sunday. To fight the mobs of tourists and townies alike, with whom we expect to sashay, shoulder to shoulder, down the crowded pagan streets. I know it's touristy, but it's also real, and I don't mind the cheesiness of some of it because I believe in what's behind it all.

Meanwhile, what an interesting day. After a morning of reviewing my Reiki notes and psyching myself up, I went to my inaugural Reiki-for-hire session. I'd misplaced the directions Greg had given me, to the "living center" where his dad is, but found it anyway. Since I was a few minutes early I sat in the car for a little meditation and prayer, and then went in.

Greg was already there, in his dad's room. Frank was sleeping when I came in. Greg moved the bed out from the wall a bit, and raised it up so I could more easily work on Frank. As I probably mentioned before, Frank has Alzheimer's and Parkinson's, as well as a compression fracture in his back, and a bladder infection. I don't know how old he is but he probably looks even older because of his condition. He was so diminished I could hardly find him in the bed below the neck, under the thick comforters. My teacher had reminded me that I could send Reiki from above the body, if I couldn't reach him in places or if he was otherwise inaccessible. Moving him at all, of course, wasn't an option. I did a combination of touching and beaming. He'd occasionally look up into my eyes and I'd smile at him. I wondered what he thought of this stranger coming in and standing next to him for a long time, holding out her hands or putting them on his head. He didn't seem to mind. I'd speak to him when he looked at me, but Greg said one of his hearing aids had been stepped on so it was broken, and the other one was on the side opposite from me.

The room had that stuffy smell that old people's bedrooms get. I wished they had a plant in there or something. It looked like he had a lower dental plate, only it looked odd because there were teeth in only half of it. He spent most of the time snoozing, and breathing loudly with his mouth wide open. His hands, their backs bruised from who knows what, were usually folded protectively over his heart or solar plexus, and they'd shake occasionally.

Throughout the session I wasn't scared, though I'd been nervous about it beforehand. Mostly I felt huge compassion, and it was very moving to watch how Greg was with his dad. See, Rose had told me in the past that Frank was grouchy and kind of abusive, a really crotchety, uncooperative guy. Maybe by now he's progressed to a place where he's more docile (or maybe he was just having a good day), but he reminded me a little of my dad the last time I saw him, when dementia had almost completely overtaken him. He was just innocent -- finally innocent of all his past crimes. Now it was for others to take care of him. Greg was so kind to Frank, and loving, stroking his hand and talking to him, and then going to his roommate beyond the curtain and making sure he had everything he needed too, calling him "buddy" and offering him water and other things. Rose has told me that Greg visits his dad every single day. That sort of kindness is immeasurable; I am sure it's indelibly inscribed in the book of Heaven.

So it was a rite of passage for me, and I tried very hard to listen for guidance and to pay attention to what the energy was telling me about him. When I was done, Greg paid me twice what I'd asked and wouldn't take any of it back. Then he introduced me to the head of the physical therapy department, who wants to hire the band for a concert next year. How much better could all that be?

Then I returned the fretless to its owner in the next town, and had a long and very interesting conversation with him and his wife. She's a cancer survivor, and her story was quite amazing. I found I liked them both very much, and to my surprise I felt I'd made two new friends. Now I'm trying to scheme how I can invite them to something or otherwise meet up with them again. Something will come to me.

By the time all that was over I was severely hungry, but still had a couple of errands to do. I went to the post office to mail a box of CDs -- a fan ordered every single thing we have except our two solo Christmas CDs -- and then went in search of space heaters. Found two for a reasonable price, and I hope this will save me a couple of dollars by the end of winter. I heat this large apartment with two big gas heaters, which are excellent but a) do not reach the bedroom or the bathroom, and b) are going to cost a bundle this winter with the higher price of natural gas. Even if I'm on tour and not using any gas here, just keeping the water heater warm in the basement seems exorbitant. I have to believe the Universe will provide.

So by the time I got home and dished out some rotisserie chicken and stirfried some broccolini and grated carrots, I just wanted to eat everything in sight. Maybe that's why I've been grazing tonight -- I really only ate twice, and that throws me all off. Well, I don't have anything horrible in the pantry any more, so I'm pretty safe.

Tomorrow I go visit Steve, who is slowly recovering from the retinal reattachment surgery. It'll be two or three months before he knows just how far his sight will come back. Eventually he'll have to have cataracts removed from the other eye. Meanwhile he can't drive yet, so I'll take him on a bunch of errands, and also bring my Reiki table.

It seems like the rest of the week will be easy. :)


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!