Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


October 20, 2005

11:02 p.m.

Going Fretless

Pretty good couple of days... my root canal work is almost done, and aside from the temporary crown coming off today and not wanting to reseat properly despite my very professional efforts to re-cement it, it's all gone very smoothly.

I was given permission to replace it myself, incidentally. So at CVS, just to the right of the toothpaste, above the denture adhesive, are several varieties of special stuff one can use to reseat loose crowns and fillings, until one can go to an actual dentist. The receptionist ascertained that the temporary filling underneath was still intact, and then said I could get some of the abovementioned and do the job myself. What they don't add is, "You won't be as good at this as your dentist, so waste the $4.50 and then call him tomorrow anyway."

I could possibly use the rest of the thimble-sized tub of putty to seal up part of a drafty window.

It's in there, but just slightly wrong, just enough for my tongue to keep visiting it, pushing on it, seeing if it still feels a little off. Of course it does. It's very distracting.

I'll call him in the morning and see if I can pop in on my way to rehearsal.

********

Had a lovely dinner with Rose and Mike tonight, and C&C came over to see the finished sunroom and the pond/waterfall out back. Frogs have been finding their way there, and one of them apparently has grown impressively large. I saw neither fish nor frogs tonight; it was chilly. They were probably hiding.

********

I have my first real, paying Reiki client Monday. A fan of ours has hired me to do a session on his father, who is in a nursing home. The gentleman has Alzheimer's, Parkinson's, and a back fracture. Even aside from the challenging logistics of just getting access to him in a hospital bed, I'm a little nervous. I called my teacher to ask her a few things and she was very helpful. I sort of wish I could pop my cherry on someone a little easier, but, hey -- I wanted to be a healer. I won't necessarily be dealing with a lot of healthy people! She told me I could give the session with grace, and was very encouraging.

Meanwhile, with my couple of days of free time, I worked out, Reiki'd myself, had a visit from my friend Joan yesterday during which we drank wine and ate snackies, some of which were healthy; this caused me to tidy and clean the apartment, which was due; I finished rereading the first Harry Potter and am on to the second again, even though I have two or three other books in line to be read. I spoke at length with Steve, who had emergency eye surgery this week for a detached retina, and is doing very well. (Update: tongue permanently affixed to bottom of temporary crown, pushing upwards.)

The other thing that happened this week was that both our gigs for the coming weekend have been rescheduled, because they were in Chicago, and it's the World Series. We always have trouble with attendance on W.S. night, wherever we are; and, being in the city itself, we must assume that the local White Sox fans will be doing their duty on Saturday night and not going out to hear live music. So, sadly, no money this week; but we're recording instead, and to that end, I'll close this and get some sleep so that I have time to visit my favorite endodontist tomorrow on the way to C&C's house. We've borrowed someone's fretless bass for a couple of parts, so are hoping the learning curve isn't too long from a fretted one so we can get at least one down this weekend. I love the fretless bass, by the way; it goes right to my soul, and if I could afford one, I'd be playing it now.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!