Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


October 13, 2005

9:00 a.m.

The Seeing Eye Cat

I dreamt I was in my kitchen, and it was night. I was lucid, and was checking all kinds of details about the kitchen to see how real it was. Suddenly I decided it would be more fun to go out the window and fly, but since I was in my pajamas I put on my heavy jacket. It was a bit of a struggle, since I was trying to make everything literal and exactly as in waking life. But I found my glasses too, and was ready to head out when next thing I knew I was

in a different apartment where I was planning to move. I had the same landlady, but this place was more rural; very quiet outside, very pastoral. I didn't even see the whole place; just an upstairs room. But I was ecstatic to be moving there, because I knew I'd be perfectly happy. Then I dreamed I awoke, and cried because I wasn't really moving. After that I dreamt that

I was back in my real apartment and it was early morning, dark. I heard voices and realized my landlord had come in the back entrance to fix something, and there were workers down the stairs too. I almost snuck back to bed but then he saw me and I spoke with him. Afterwards I wondered how the heck he'd gotten past the chain lock. Then I had a brief interval where I

actually woke up, and thinking about the moving dream realized I had only dreamt I woke up crying, not actually done it. And how strange that the situation was reversed -- to want to move anywhere but here! But then I went back to sleep and had the topper of all the dreams, which was that

I seemed to be at a big party, and there might have been some flying or other magical things going on, but I had a woman friend who was at least six and a half feet tall -- I had to positively crane my neck up to talk to her -- and we were having a friendly argument, and finally I walked over and got a chair (one that's in my kitchen, though this wasn't my kitchen), plopped it down in front of her, stood on it, and now, towering over her, shook my finger playfully at her and she laughed, surprised.

********

Then I went into the hall, and a cat came to me. It seemed to be blind, as its forehead somehow covered its eyes, or they were closed. Its color morphed a couple of times but settled on a henna shade with flecks of gray or white hairs throughout. Its name was Augury.

I woke up, finally, saying it over and over.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!