Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


October 11, 2005

11:37 p.m.

What a Party

Rose and I had way too much fun to even begin to describe the weekend's debauchery. We stayed at posh resorts, courtesy of her husband, and I had a total of three massages and one facial in four days. We ate like sows, laughed like drunkards, and she spent enormous amounts of money on me over and above Mike's absorbing the cost of lodging. I had positively the best meal of my life, which involved smoked pheasant and roasted lentils chowder style, anise glazed duck with truffles and various other vegetable things including thin slabs of potato cooked inside layers of PUFF PASTRY, and a dessert which contained approximately 8,000 calories, 95% of them from fat.

I'm now on a diet.

We also visited a winery, and after a wine tasting session, Rose bought four mixed cases and has sent me home with several bottles, a few for Dar. We also found him the perfect birthday present; his birthday passed as a workday while we were lolling shamelessly in some spa.

********

We snagged a radio appearance with a local celebrity / columnist, and that will happen Thursday. I dutifully sent out CDs and press releases today for some other gigs, and did a few obligatory things. Also finished A Separate Peace this morning, a brilliant book. Rearranged the breakfast nook to once and for all accommodate the papasan chair, which I had to move out of the living room to make space for the TotalGym, on which I worked out. Now the day is over, and I'm so tired I can't think of anything else to write. Oh, I went to the dentist this morning too, because all weekend I couldn't chew on my new temporary crown, and I had quite a bit of intermittent throbbing from it, in spite of major doses of ibuprofen. Bloody hell. He thought it might be the occlusion, so he drilled it down slightly on the bottom surface. I hope to God that's it, because if it isn't, it probably indicates that other tooth procedure which I don't want to write here. I've already had three of those and I'd like to not have any more if possible, please. Meanwhile it still hurts, and clenching in my sleep isn't helping. Where's that jaw massage when you need it?


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!