Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


September 28, 2005

8:06 p.m.

I'm a Live Wire

I accomplished a few things today in spite of pervading laziness. I:

* took the rest of the paint cans down to the scary basement.

* painted the bedroom window frame.

* installed new blind on said frame.

* entered my debits into my check register.

* tidied a little more clutter.

* made much headway reading my book.

* cleaned out the fridge for garbage day.

* nurtured a real bluesy feeling like "you done me wrong but I wish you were here anyway" that sometimes omens actual inspiration.

* used "omen" as a verb.

* put off going to the post office yet again. Well, this isn't really an accomplishment.

* labored over a really fine press release for us and another duo for a November split bill.

* called the dentist for a checkup appointment. It was 4:56; they didn't answer. Therefore, I get to accomplish this again tomorrow.

* made a fine stirfry using a touch of soy sauce, a little tahini, some pepper, ginger, and ground coriander.

And I created our monthly newsletter. I need a little info from my mates but I'm hoping to send it out tonight. We have rehearsal the next two days, so I'll stay over at their house, and then we drive to Philly for a one night stand. There goes another weekend of 2005.

********

I like that it's getting to be Fall. My apartment stays warm a long time; it's nice to have a cool breeze. The Squatleys next door have behaved themselves since school started. They aren't using their pool any more. They've left it uncovered, however, so it's getting darker by the week. Soon there will be orange leaves, like floating candles, in time for Hallowe'en.

And may I just say this? It's September 28th. It is too soon to put fake spider webs on your front shrubbery and broom-mounted witches on your door. Just because Mal-Wart has them out already does not mean you must go lurching out like a manic Frankenstein, wallet clutched in outstretched paw, to purchase more seasonal cheap plastic crap to entertain the neighbors. Have a shred of decency. You're buying into the very unbridled consumerism that plagues this country and threatens to turn us into gross, unfeeling cretins without an iota of soul or poetry to our beings.

And while I'm kvetching, why don't they hurry up and get in those colored mini-light strings so I can replace the one in my kitchen that died? Don't they know people use these things year round? Tch.

********

It's one of those songs you hear and hear again, and then it doesn't leave your head for days. You learn to sing it as if you wrote it, you imagine singing it to roomfuls of strangers who know you better than your friends. It's by Anais Mitchell and you can hear it here by clicking on the mp3 link next to "Cosmic American." Her whole album is riveting like this; you can't listen to it when you're cheerful, but it's a great accompaniment to a sad soiree. Very political which isn't usually my bag, but she lived in Egypt and travelled in Russia and Israel and wrote about the people she met, and her voice is like an old soul in a babydoll body, crying out for the world's lost innocence.

********

I have nothing else to say tonight, apparently.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!