Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


September 03, 2005

6:33 p.m.

Black Crow

Only snow can melt this heart of snow
I freeze, for it's the only way I know
To let go when I can't let go

Black crow against a yellow sky
Black crow, down he fly
Regard me with your onyx eye

Sing me a feathered lullabye
Don't cry, shattered, don't cry
Come, loose the knots I've tied
And warm me from inside
And melt this heart of snow


How long, o bird, how long
Is there grace in ice and song
For fire and silence don't belong

In a heart so set and cold
Red tears run through this heart of gold
It will beat in me a lifetime, I'm told

I clung to you but did not hold
Clutching much will make you old
If it takes the life I live
I will learn how to forgive
And melt this heart of snow

Cold anger feels good
But in the end is like
Taking poison and waiting
for your enemy to die



Black crow, show me the night
For you are dark as light is light
And in this dark I gain my sight

Black crow, harbinger of sorrow
The light beneath your wings is but a shadow
Take me where sadness cannot follow

It took an army and an act of will
to close the door
But there goes your sorrow o'er the hill
to fight another war
Now the troops can all come in
To light the hearth again
And melt this heart of snow



(please don't reproduce without permission; thanks)


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!