Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


August 19, 2005

9:10 p.m.

Red and Gold

It's surprisingly easy to not gig, I find. Yesterday I spent some time doing laundry and hearing Africa stories at Rose's, but otherwise I've been painting all week, in between additional trips back to Home Depot (at least 45 minutes away; why is there neither a H.D. or a Wholefoods in this part of Connecticut??) for MORE paint. The bathroom is so exquisite now, it practically needs a chandelier. I decided to work next on the Breakfast Nook, a sort of dormered section of the kitchen where the windows are. Deep, saturated paint colors. I'm talking multiple coats. The walls are finally done, and the ceiling; the trim is a deep red, and I opted out of the tinted primer, so it's taking a long time. Dar is coming tomorrow and I wanted to have enough done to at least give him an impression of the final look. Anyway it's going to be stunning.

Rose gave me a large piece of what, in Ghana, they call mudcloth. It's hand woven, sort of like coarse linen, on narrow looms -- maybe four inches wide -- and then long strips are painstakingly hand-sewn together into these large throws or hangings. They're dyed with mud of some sort, in these rich, earthy colors, and then painted or stamped with traditional designs. The one she gave me is almost exactly the color I'd chosen for the breakfast nook -- it's called golden ember and it's gorgeous. Somehow I have to incorporate this fabric in the vicinity. She also got me a cool shift-type dress with beads on the hem, in a very bright, tie-dyed soft cotton. She got one for herself in red, and we're both wearing them tomorrow to the Great Swimming Pot Luck and Africa Stories Hullabaloo at her neighbors' house. The dad and the daughter of that family also went to the clinic this time, he being a nurse and she a college student of child studies or something, and they loved it. The dad actually saved a little kid's life on the plane coming home, as he'd stopped breathing and was turning blue! Rose loved the trip again, too, even though her luggage is STILL missing and she arrived in Africa with neither toothpaste nor underwear, nor asthma meds nor ambien nor bras nor any damn thing because KLM decided to route her suitcase to east bumfuck, Nowhere. Where it still resides.

No memorable dreams for a few nights, though I've slept well, as the heat wave has broken. I did use Reiki successfully to find my VERY missing glasses the other day (and a prayer to Mom didn't hurt, either). Nothing else to report, really, on any front. It feels like the kitchen trim is dry enough for another coat, so I'll take my iced yerba mate back out and roll some more on. I wish I were independently wealthy so I could just tinker with my home to my heart's content.

Peaceful night, everyone.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!