Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


July 20, 2005

10:08 p.m.

The Kundalini Dream

Somehow I'd gotten into a large pond or lake. There were reedy patches here and there, very pretty, and I was standing (or treading?) about chest-high in the water. It was a nice day. I had something in my hand I now can't identify -- it was like a wand but much thicker, maybe a stick or a fat dowel. I'm not a fast swimmer, so whenever I wanted to get somewhere else in the lake, I'd hold out this stick and say with great authority, "Kundalini!" This magic word would propel me fast to the next place I wanted to go. I did this a few times, very powerfully, and then became aware that there was some churning under the water, and something was under there that might be threatening to me. I was a little scared but I got away with a few Kundalinis, and then discovered that my bicycle was at hand. Literally, beside me, at hand, submerged in the lake. (Where else would it be?) I swung it around in front of me, and knew it would provide enough protection from whatever invisible danger was advancing.

So I looked up Kundalini, having heard of a type of yoga by that name but knowing really nothing else about it. I've read variously that it's the feminine aspect of a person's chi; it's the Power of the Divine; it's the Great Mother who gives birth to all that is. Beyond that, and the image of the coiled serpent, it gets very embroiled and hard to transcribe.

I'm usually good at interpreting my own dreams, but this one is big. I'm trying to feel whether it's a signpost with an arrow, or just a town name. "Kundalini, This Way!" or "Kundalini, pop. 144,000." Don't know yet. But it was a very cool dream.

********

And now, some idle questions I've been accumulating.

1) Will Cher ever stop oversinging?

2) Does anyone really care about a movie star's manufactured romance?

3) Why are those huge commercial t.p. holders usually installed about eight inches from the floor?

4) Does anyone else miss Tommy Steele (Finian's Rainbow, The Happiest Millionaire, Half a Sixpence)?

5) Why are 3's and 8's (and S's for that matter) so often placed upside down in marquees and gas station signs (with the big part on top)?

6) Who else knows the name of the plastic things on the tips of shoelaces?

********

I was going to write more, but I'm having a sudden urge to call my friend Red in Texas, who has studied Kundalini Yoga. She might have some insight into the dream. Anyway it'll be fun to talk with her, if she's home.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!