Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


July 12, 2005

9:37 p.m.

Sighting!

I saw one of these today:

It's a kangaroo rat. Understand that I live in New England. There isn't a square inch of desert to be found here. This might have been someone's pet that got loose. I saw it on the town bypass; it hopped out to the middle of the passing lane in front of me. I swerved a bit to let it pass under my car, and saw it hop back onto the grass in the rearview mirror.

It was so darned cute. Boing-boing-boing-boing-boing.

It reminded me of how I can't have a pet until I'm not touring any more, and how much I love animals. I'd even just have a mouse, if I stayed home more. I'm sure I'm not allergic to mice. I've been a lot less allergic to Rose's cats lately, too, so maybe I'd have a cat instead. One day... in my next makeover.

********

I also got the temporary crown put on my cold-sensitive tooth today. It was overdue, I guess; I kept hoping it would just get better, but in fact the dentist located a crack in the tooth, below the large filling. I have three root canals on the right side, from about ten years ago, from the same kind of cracking. Only those were worse; I couldn't chew on them at all. He noticed that the tooth behind the one worked on today also has a crack, but it's impossible to tell how deep it is. So far I don't think it's been bothering me.

My mother had recurring dreams of her teeth crumbling. She did have a lot of dental work done, especially in her later years. I clench mine in my sleep. I forgot to ask the dentist about a night guard.

Beyond that, I watched an old VHS tape of Mystery Science Theatre from the early 90s. Remember that show, where Joel Hodgson and his two robots sit and watch terrible movies and make funny comments about them? Oh, how I loved that show. It wasn't nearly as good after Joel left. I only wish I'd taped more of them.

I also mapped the Michigan trip which, it turns out, will only be about 9 days, not two weeks as I was imagining. I'm rather interested in seeing Michigan, after all. I lived in the Upper Peninsula from about 12 to 14 years old, and though it was a terrible early adolescent period which I'm grateful never to have to repeat, it'll be interesting to see a bit of scenery from my past. My parents were having a rough time -- well, my mom was having a rough time and my dad was just drunk most nights -- and I had no mentors nor any real, true friends -- but my imagination was bubbling and I already had the dreams I'd later realize. We'll get to drive through Canada for a while on our way there.

And in rummaging for my passport just in case we need it, I discovered that it expires next year. I think I used it once, in '96. That's SAD. It's unforgiveable. And my picture -- they'll never believe it's me anyway! I've simply got to go somewhere to another shore before so many years go by again. Gagh!

********

I have one more day at home before the trip. This evening was wonderfully cool; I sat in the papasan by the kitchen window, and the breeze tumbled over me like a blessing. The next couple of months are going to be good; I can feel it. Lots of wonderful surprises. Amazing dreams. Visits from friends, and songwriting in Maine next month. And oh, the lobster.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!