Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


June 19, 2005

9:11 p.m.

The Headache's Ebbing Now

I don't know why I called it that; it was just the first thing that came to me. I haven't had many headaches the last few weeks, even during my recent period, which is a great improvement. Got one today, though. I'm hoping it'll be gone in time for my Reiki session tomorrow morning. Froc is coming for a treatment! I'm needlessly a little nervous, but happy about it.

We spent two days recording and I got two good guitar tracks and two keeper vocals. That's pretty good progress; we have 8 songs begun now, and I have only two more guitar songs to do. One I'll do with vocals and one will be separate. Then there are a few bass parts (easy) and some background vocals, as soon as Carol does her lead vocals. I feel like the hardest work is done for me, although the last song I don't even know by heart and it's got some tricky changes that my fingers haven't gotten used to yet. Anyway I felt good about our progress and I even did a couple of loads of laundry at the band's house -- then forgot to put the basket in my car when we went to our gig. So after Kripalu (yoga center), I came back this morning and picked up the laundry, then did a small list of errands before finally hitting the grocery store and coming home. By then I was way too hungry, which may have set me up for the headache.

But the afternoon was so lovely, even though I didn't go hiking or bike riding; I played my guitar for a while, the one that just got repaired, and noodled on a new song. I need to get to know this instrument again. It was my first really good guitar, and it's taken rather a beating over the years -- not because of mistreatment, but because of time and weather. I just had a new bridge saddle built because the neck wouldn't come up any more to raise the action (the distance of the strings from the neck). The finish, which was some kind of hard polyester, cracked over the years and I had to have it repaired with another kind which didn't go on that smoothly, didn't marry with the old one. But it's such a beautiful instrument, made of koa, all ripply and honeyed. The frets are so much smaller than my other guitars that they feel almost painted on. I'm surprised that I've gotten used to the bigger ones now. But this guitar plays like butter, and I almost feel it's an old friend I've neglected for a while. I stopped touring with it (flying) because I didn't want anything to happen to it, but the result was that I didn't play it all winter, because then we got an endorsement from Avalon. I do get emotionally attached to my "things" sometimes. This guitar saw me through a LOT of years and a lot of songs, very important passages of my life. I owe it. So now it's on a stand in my living room, at the ready whenever I want to pick it up. You see, I think there is divinity in all things and I honor the contribution this instrument has made in my growing and learning to cope.

Going by the fact that we're all made from the same stuff, atoms of mostly space where particles come and go into the who-knows-where, the guitar and I are the same thing anyway.

Having said that, I also got my oil changed today.

********

Steve comes to visit on Tuesday afternoon, after stopping at my Reiki teacher's house for a clairvoyant reading. He knows so many dead people, my goodness, it should be quite a party.

********

I have in my hands (well, on the kitchen counter) two CDs comprising my sister's and my halves of our poetry book. It's sort of a draft, the best we could get together before she left for Peru yesterday (no medical mission this time, just a vacation for her and Mike), and tomorrow I'll send it to the publisher. If he likes it we're golden. It's very exciting.

********

I find I don't have much else to say, I guess. Just happy to be home tonight, headache notwithstanding, contentedly perusing diaries and not feeling rushed.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!