Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


June 03, 2005

9:50 p.m.

Pic Worth 1,000 Words, Unless It's the Wrong Pic

Okay, I was archiving diary entries and I noticed that one of the pictures I thought I'd posted in April was something else... I'd actually put in another image of ME, as though there aren't enough of those here -- made all the more narcissistic by the fact that the same image appeared, even LARGER, at the bottom of the same entry. This was a very important picture, though, a mean and disparaging drawing I'd done of Will when I was on retreat. The intended image can now be found here. My only regret is that I didn't come up with a polka dotted clown costume for him to wear.

Anyway, I've spent a nice day at home except for this morning when I picked up my repaired guitar from Froc. He was telling me how he'd been struggling with depression, so I did about 15 minutes of Reiki just on his head, and I think he went into another dimension. I quietly gathered my things to go, checking every few seconds to see if he'd opened his eyes. Finally as I was closing the front door he looked straight at me, with a face I'd never seen before, and mouthed, "Call me." I had told him I'd call after we get back from Texas to set up a proper Reiki session.

So the Franklin has a new bridge saddle and is playable now. The finish has suffered so much over the years, it really looks a little trashed in places, but the Koa wood is so beautiful, like rippled honey. The frets are much smaller than my other guitars, and I'd forgotten how easily the neck plays. This instrument was the song of my soul -- the first good guitar I ever had, and now irreplaceable, as the luthier no longer makes guitars. In fact he's gone AWOL; no one seems to know where he is any more. I wrote some very important songs on this sweet baby. I think I'll take it with me to Maine this summer and see what else is inside it.

Goodnight; may you all find a little peace this evening.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!