Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


March 01, 2005

9:11 a.m.

All Sorts of News

Can you guess why I haven't written in two weeks? Have I fallen through the earth's crust? Been abducted? Moved to Canada? Struck my head and contracted amnesia and forgot my diary address?

Nah. I've just been busy. For, in addition to the usual eccentric schedule of a touring musician, I've actually been making time to see someone.

I last wrote about the first visit to Steve's house, which was a bit of a tragedy in some ways. We've gotten together a couple of times since then; he made the trip twice last week, for a couple of days each. Both times there was snow, but the drive wasn't nearly as bad as his first visit. I had my first little housewarming party last Friday, and he helped move furniture and clean the apartment and cut the rug pad and install things with his handy drill, and he also fixed the toilet without being asked. And helped me shovel snow from the back driveway. These small things are so significant to me. Soon I'll have him trained to help me carry all my shit up to the third floor when I come back from a gig.

So today, any minute now in fact, I'm going to get ready for my second trip to his darling little town. He's made a few changes this time; I get to sleep in the wee adjacent apartment, which he has cleaned out and dubbed "Bornearly's Room." This should circumvent most of the problems that surfaced last time I tried to sleep in the main part of the house. He's also very eager to bring me to dinner before Morris practice tonight and "show me off" to a few of his buddies. I'm trying not to be nervous about that, I suppose; it has to happen sometime.

Somewhere in the last couple of weeks I began to acknowledge that I had a boyfriend. It's so funny to say that, so alien. But it feels okay. No predictions still, and I haven't used the L word, but it's nice to have someone to miss when I'm on the road, who actually misses me.

Dar and I are doing okay. We (the band) saw him the other night when we had a Boston area gig, and we all went out to dinner. He's holding up, though I could tell he was unsure whether or how to hug me at first.

Then, get this. Last week or so I was talking to my engineer friend, Sig, and he told me that Will got married. It was a complete surprise to everyone, and it was to someone Sig had never met. Someone who came along while Will was sick, apparently, and who knows, they might have had a little something going late last summer when Will was visiting me, and maybe that's why he was so reticent in the end. He might have told me, though. He might have given me a hint, knowing how I felt and all. Just reinforces what I already had concluded about him. Having Steve in my life made it better, but it still gave me a couple of sorrowful days.

Then, last weekend, we went to see Tomas Kubinek, an incredible, brilliant vaudeville clown. See his videos here. Chris got picked out of the audience for one of the gags, and we talked with him afterwards.

There must be more; there is so much more. I've gotten behind here. I've been touring, doing taxes, talking to my new flame, and beginning recording for a new band CD. I'm also starting to write other things again. Steve is a writer, and so is encouraging me to pick up my fiction and prose again. He's just about finished with his novel too. We'll probably do some reading together this week. But meanwhile, to those of you who like to visit me here once in a while, I will be moving my diary to a new location soon. It's a new chapter in my life, perhaps a happier one, and it deserves a new space. If any of you want to get the new alias (when I decide what it is), please use the "contact me" link and email me directly. There may be another entry or two before that happens; I'm a little rushed right now, and we're going to Texas next week for two weeks, so it might not even be til next month.

Anyway, happy trails, blessed be, and keep warm.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!