Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


December 01, 2004

1:06 p.m.

Still Sick, Five Days Later

What's with the cold from hell? Has hell frozen over finally, and sent this despicable disease, this malodorous malady, this insufferable infirmity to torment me, for all the times I said, "Oh sure, I'll do that for you, when hell freezes over"? I'm hot, I'm cold. I can't breathe through my nose at all. I'm coughing. My sinuses are running like a river, and they feel like a truck ran over them. I haven't slept for more than a few minutes at a time for two nights. The sneezing fits are tearing my trachea to ribbons. It's not any fun.

I have a gig in three days. My guess is I'll either be mended by then, or in the bronchitis level of hell.

Perhaps I had a moment of hubris last week when I thought back on how LONG it had been since I'd been sick. I don't think I was gloating, though.

Most inconvenient.

Even though it's not how I imagined spending half my vacation, I'm still glad I'm home, cozy, swimming in herbal tea and wrapped in thick sweaters (except during the hot flashes, when I throw them off in all directions).

********

The weather is terrible. 50 mph winds are predicted for this evening, and it's raining and sloppy. I ventured out only to return DVDs to the library, mail a couple of letters, and stock up on cold remedies. The jacket I recently sprayed with Scotch Guard mysteriously sucked up every raindrop that fell on it. Maybe the can was old. I've been cramming a couple of new bass parts which are coming along fine, hoping I'll be well enough to go rehearse tomorrow.

Light just dimmed so we may be having a little electric outage. I'd better send this up and boot down. Happy December 1st, all.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!