Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


November 16, 2004

12:24 a.m.

Bedtime

I'm still bloody tired from the weekend, but I've managed to get everything in the outside world done today so that I don't have to go out tomorrow at all. I may borrow some DVDs from the library if I get inspired, but mainly I have a lot of music homework to do, and would rather just stay in.

Our weekend was good; the conference was one and a half VERY busy days, but our showcase was superb and we got some nibbles, and made friends with at least one other artist we admire hugely. One thing that kicked us up a notch was that Chris got invited to sit on a workshop panel about making promotional DVDs -- since he's just finished making one. We did it by the seat of our pants, with hardly any budget, and he learned how to work the line-editing software as he went along. It came out rather miraculously, considering all that. Another panelist had a DVD that was much more complicated, involved numerous directors and producers and other people, and cost $30,000 to make. It was very interesting to look at the two approaches and see that both products, while being very different, were really good, and useful. Anyway, Chris got a little notoriety for that and also he was wearing his fish pants which were, for some reason, the hit of the day. They were so talked about that, that night at our formal showcase, the woman who introduced us mentioned them, even though Chris had changed into something classier by then.

Our last (smaller) showcase ended after 2:00am, and by the time we got packed back up and returned to our hotel, it was after three. We had to leave pretty promptly that morning for home, so that we'd have a skimpy hour to nap before getting ready for sound check at our Hartford gig. It was a hard, hard day, and though we started out with literally hours of time between sound check and show, there were so many holdups that I was running out to get food for us forty-five minutes before show time, and eating it in the dressing room at twenty til the hour. Quite a stressful day. We had a decent crowd though, thanks to some last minute extra advertising we did, and we were so punchy during the two sets that everything was quite funny. At least WE thought it was.

Today I came up with one of two required bass parts that I should have under my belt before Wednesday's rehearsal. I also need to come up with a vocal on something for the weekend. I had limited time though, because I finally had to get my new car's first oil change, and do laundry at Rose's. That all took several hours, she and the Toyota dealer being at least 45 minutes away now. Tomorrow I'll be able to putter here more.

Oh -- I quite painstakingly made a scale model of my upper stairway and front door, and also of the loveseat I've had my eye on -- to see if it would fit up the stairs. It doesn't!! Not even close. It won't go around that last corner. I'm thinking, what in the world can I get that still looks good and is comfortable, that will fit into this place? Rose came up with the idea tonight, and I'm amazed I didn't think of it: a futon. They're made comfy now; you can get foam ones and different types. Surely I can find something in my budget. It also means I can have a guest someday, although generally I prefer to live like a hermit and not invite anyone to stay over.

********

Well, for God's sake, just go to bed. This is me at my finest, tired and done with the day and just not getting up and brushing my teeth and getting under the damn covers.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!