Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


November 04, 2004

11:00 p.m.

I'll Free You in My Dreams

I have been pondering, for some long time now, how to go about actively forgiving my bipolar ex boyfriend who died over seven years ago.

Last week while touring the midwest I had a series of three dreams which I think relate to this. Here's the poem I wrote about it when I got home.


Enemies

I


Walking down the street
in the spirit-place,
I, living, spoke to the dead one.

There was complete understanding;
no memory of the earthly past,
nor any grievance, as though
this was our natural state
and all that had gone before
were just so many stories.

At the end,
when I knew I had to
go, I twined my fingers round his neck
and asked, �Are you going to be all right now?�
and he answered, hopefully,

�I have my moments.�


II

Being weary of the battle,
I dreamed I asked forgiveness
of my enemy.

I discovered all his guests at the banquet
eating his cake.
It was blue,
bright blue.
It was Krishna blue

and, being out of favor,
I had none.

But though I ached
with the injustice of his wrongs

I took a golden pen
and sought to write,
I am sorry;
please forgive me.


And then I would go quietly,
as though the point were not to get cake,
but only to make a way
for peace.


III

I got into a fight
in the cereal aisle.

Words led to hitting and
I killed him in anger and without regret.

The grocery store turned into a fairgrounds as I
ran a long way through a crowd to escape
under a fence where my bike
was waiting, looking almost like my bike
and ready to help me flee
up the winding streets
with no thought but to remain
anonymous and
unaccountable.


IV

So slowly we emerge from dreams
to our familiar, warsome states.

I have been asking the way
to forgiveness,
though the war crimes were real
and I have carried my anger
like a standard
of petrified
wood.

But since there is no more battle,
only the spectre of a burning hill,
I have come to the conclusion
that poisoning oneself
is no way
to rout
an enemy.

Three dreams were given to me in one week
to point the different paths I might take.

In the first, there was perfect understanding.
In the second, conciliation with a price.
In the third, action without compassion.

At this crossroads
a host of blackbirds rises from the trees
and blankets the sky
shouting in joyful chorus for the
coming of the Autumn gods
and the passage of all things.



********

Have a peaceful night, all.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!