Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


September 23, 2004

9:13 p.m.

Forced to Get Functional

Butt-hangin' tired. How can I be so tired and still be working? Can I stop now? I put the pantry unit together, unpacked more boxes, moved everything in the living room around to some satisfaction, did errands, cooked, set up the bookcase, and listened to a lot of vague neighborhood boom boxage today. I did find the Bose, so I was able to listen to a lot of NPR and a superb oldie hits station in the afternoon.

I also got confirmation that my friend in L.A. is a finalist on a sort of reality audition show, in which she will compete with a few other hopefuls to play the new Shirley Partridge. Yes, you heard me correctly. They're rebirthing the Partridge Family. But the auditions aren't regular ones, they're these drawn-out televised thingies where they have to perform in front of various panels of judges and then, apparently, get voted on by the audience.

(Now Ducky, I know you sometimes read these entries so I don't want you getting all nervous because I've mentioned it. You'll be exquisite and it'll be a huge hoot.)

Anyway it's on this Sunday on VH-1, at 9:00pm probably but check your listings if you care to watch, and GUESS which actress I'm referring to! Hint: she's gorgeous.

Well, now I'm all in a tizzy, as silly as it is.

But now I'm so tired I have to sit with my back against something, preferably pillows. Ice cream... that's the ticket. I deserve ice cream.

Tomorrow we open for someone we don't know at a venue three hours away that might pay us $50 or something. It's a desirable place to play, of course, so that's why we're making the trek. Funny how so many of these venues are high-end in the sense that they're very well known and people kill to play there -- but they hardly pay anything, even features, and it's small. I hope we fit on the stage.

Then Saturday we're at Kripalu, the great yoga retreat, one long set and then the (longer for me, now) drive home.

********

Oh! I found out it'll cost me between $200 and $400 to have my couch delivered, by the moving company, to my friend's house. How absurd! Now I have to find time to rent a truck and snag a couple of roustabouts to get it out of hock. I'm hoping somehow my brother in law will offer to do it, since I simply won't be home and I still don't know how much they're charging me to store it. (Longer story, limited information, too tired to elucidate.)

********

Integrated neighborhood aside, I'm still just juiced to be here. I haven't had time to chat with Sunny downstairs yet; she works a later shift and is rushed in the morning, and comes home around 10pm. Strange that I'm going to be mostly gone for my first few weeks here, but it means I can savor the settling in. Slowly boxes are disappearing.

My bandmates have had the crud this week, and Carol sounds like Marlene Deitrich at the moment. I may be doing a little extra singing this trip.

********

One last note: I've really been digging Dan Brown's book, Deception Point. It's pre-Da Vinci Code, and like that book and Angels & Demons, it's riveting. I recommend them.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!