Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


September 09, 2004

6:44 a.m.

The Eve of Florida

We can get all the individual reports we want, but we won't really know how Florida is until it's before our eyes. "Oh, the venue's up and running! Of course the show is on!" doesn't take into account people like poor Candoor whose roofs are weeping onto their heads. It'll be very interesting.

The "found day" was a blessing, as I continued to pack and throw out detritus. Between my move and the maintenance guy's landscaping projects, our dumpster is now overflowing. The only big thing left to toss is my ancient ironing board which, for some reason, has warped after years of stalwart, flat service. Now it's more like a rocking chair than an ironing board.

When I get back from FL, in addition to detailing the car and taking a huge vanload of miscellany to the new place and then cleaning it because the former tenant was clueless (not to mention greasy), and getting to Best Buy to have the old radio put back into the old car, bro' in law Mike is suggesting I take the Honda to the other nearby Toyota dealer to see if they'd give me any more for it than my local one has offered. I don't know how I'm going to fit that in, but it sounds prudent.

Meanwhile Carol has ordered a new laptop. Hers is degrading and needs to be reborn at the very least. This week the "h" stopped working. Chris finally lifted the key and found a piece of fingernail underneath it. (This is a person [Carol, not Chris] who does NOT pay attention to where things are in space. She'll close up her laptop and place it on the very edge of a desk, hanging over, and occasionally it'll just fall off. Or the glass, or her glasses, or her notebook. You just wouldn't believe some of the bizarre accidents that have occurred from lack of attention.) So they'll reinstall the old OS in that one and use it for conferences (playing our DVD at the exhibit booth, for example).

And this morning I'm up way too early, getting ready to get to their house for our flight to Orlando. We're staying with someone there tonight, and then driving the rental to Sunrise tomorrow for what we hope will be a great gig in a large theatre. It won't be the big, impressive instrument setup we anticipated when we were going to drive there, and we won't be able to do certain songs because some instruments must be left behind, but as long as people come...

It's hard to wake up though. I feel sluggish. I haven't eaten spectacularly the last few days because there's nothing much left in the kitchen. And I just remembered a dream... I was in a huge house, a mansion, that belonged to my ex boss from when I lived in my (new) apartment years ago. I wanted to take a bath, so I was going around looking for a bathroom with a shower -- and I either was naked or just had my underwear on. Someone was coming home imminently, so I was dashing down hallways trying to get in somewhere before anyone saw me. I ducked into this one large bathroom that had a whole connected set of jacuzzis -- some just for the feet, like when you go for a pedicure, then one that was upright and just big enough to stand up in, then a really big one like a small pool. This was his wife's bathroom. They all already had water in them, and when I got into each one, it automatically heated up. I wondered how long the water had been in there and if it was filtered somehow? I was in the standup one and decided to go for the larger one, and on the way across, the whole set of jacuzzis started rocking back and forth, making the water into waves. I was scared at first but realized this was programmed in so one could... do a little swimming or something. It splooshed me back and forth a couple of times and I was prepared to hold my breath, but never went under.

Then some guy came in and we were conversing, and I don't know why I was no longer concerned about being naked. Maybe I had a robe by then.

Overall not that interesting a dream, or significant. But at least it didn't involve packing or painting.

*Yawn.* All right, I'll get ready to go.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!