Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


September 07, 2004

11:43 p.m.

Moving, and Staying Put

Okay. Now. Okay. Here's what happened. Okay, here's what happened.

IPUTADOWNPAYMENTONACAROHMYGODWHATHAVEIDONE!!!!!

It wasn't my fault. It's all because we're flying to Florida and I had this extra day. Rose left me a message saying, come over for dinner, wash your curtains and then we'll go to the Toyota dealer.

Each time she's suggested this, which is daily for several days, I've said no, I'll wait until after the move because I can't deal with it right now. But here was this extra day, just hanging out all over the place, and I really didn't have any reason to not go tonight, so we went. And I test drove the boxy, odd little Scion XB that I've had my eye on for months.

It's so different from my little Civic that I had to stop comparing it. Apples and Orangutans.

The verdict was that, while it's not a luxury car at all, it's comfortable and very utilitarian. It'll still be luxurious to me because it has all the stuff my old car doesn't (which is anything). The honda has: 1) stick windows, 2) air conditioning? see (1). 3) remote entry? Uh, try this manual key made out of flinty rock. 4) trunk room? use garbage compacter, then insert. 5) doors? two. two really long, heavy doors that are hard to get in and out of. You get the idea. The scion has: 1) automatic windows, 2) a/c, 3) button mirror controls, 4) rear AND side defoggers and rear wiper, 5) remote jingy for unlocking, 6) doors - four plus rear hatch, 7) miles of room -- I believe I could fit two guitars in the well behind the front seats, not just one, and besides the seats fold forward for huge loading, 7) cargo cover for rear space when back seats are up, into which will fit amp and other "trunk" stuff, 8) automatic transmission. The steering wheel is much smaller than the civic's so it feels a little weird right now. That was the only odd thing I noted.

Drives kind of like a... square car. Kind of squarely. Good turning radius though, handles well. I liked it.

So to make a long story short, I put a little deposit down on it. The final deal will depend on how they appraise Tardis One; I didn't have it with me tonight, and I have to clean it up before bringing it in so as not to be totally embarrassed. I won't be able to do that until after Florida. Rose and Mike are encouraging me to get the additional 100,000 mile extended warranty since I drive so much, and that's another $1,000 -- ouch! It hurts enough already! -- which will compromise my ability to keep the payments under $200.

So I'm feeling glad but nervous about the whole thing. I couldn't get a more suitable car for my lifestyle anywhere else for this money unless I went used, and anything with miles on it wouldn't last me as long.

Besides, I want a NEW car.

Tardis Two.

It's so cute.

********

In other news, there is no other news except that I now have clean sheer curtains, and I'm going to bed soon. In two weeks all this transition will be done and I'll be unpacking at my leisure. I think as a symbol of solidarity with the new apartment, and faith in the current passage, I'll throw out all the moving boxes this time. I've always flattened and kept them for the next move. Some have 3 layers of tape on them by now. That means I bought them in New Hampshire. But I'm telling the Universe that I want to stay put.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!