Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


September 03, 2004

9:08 a.m.

And More Packing

Slightly brain-dead, I'll try to make a little entry here. It's starting to feel like I'm starting to see the possibility of perhaps beginning to see the end of it.

Having a farewell dinner party is excellent motivation for finishing packing.

Well, it won't be much of a party really, but more like sitting around on the carpet with paper plates and pizza. Something really spartan, really boheme. My upstairs neighbor is so bummed that I'm going. That's flattering. I can't imagine we'll keep in touch really; he doesn't do email (too much of it at work), but he may show up at a gig now and then. It's his sister who bought my Taylor a few months ago; she's attending Hartt school of music in Hartford now, so I may see her sometime too.

********

I've asked Dar for a loan to make a down payment on a car later this month. I was going to wait until I'd saved a few thousand, but finally decided it was time to stop putting money into the dear old car. My Tardis! My little time machine that was to take me into my future! My cozy coupe with no air conditioning and just barely enough space to pack all my equipment into. No one will know that it was a cosmic car, sent here to transport me from a life as an actress/office manager, hiding from my heart's desire, to that of a self actualized, heart-healing, road rolling minstrel. It'll move on to some little old lady who doesn't drive very much, or some student who needs a getabout. I feel like I should have some kind of ceremony before letting it go.

Dar said of course he'd loan me the money, so as long as this week's hurricaine doesn't notice his house in Florida, it should be a go.

********

On Rose's advice, I called USAA through whom I have my insurance, and talked with them about financing -- pre approval, interest rates, monthly payment based on projected down pmt and trade-in value of the Honda. Now we'll get to see if the dealership will be able to beat their deal. Rose is really looking forward to the skirmish! Dar says they'll come up to me and say, "What do I have to do to get you into traffic in two hours?" When I leased the Honda in '98, I recall being so unprepared. Didn't know anything at all. Why does it feel like it takes so long, sometimes, to grow up? Technically I'm really smart, but I look back on so many times when I just didn't have a clue as to how the world worked. I guess it's the downside of a rich inner life!

I've been up, working, for two and a half hours and no breakfast yet, so it's time for sustenance. And then more packing.

P.S. Have not come up with a possible new name for new car.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!