Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


July 22, 2004

11:35 p.m.

The Thursday Report

Too hot to ride today. It should, however, be a great weekend for our festival in Oswego. We have two long-ass sets, one at noon and one in the evening. Chris offered to do the set lists this time -- it's always been my job, though we all offer changes to the first draft -- and I gave him our full song list and the bass tuning chart. (About half the bass songs are in drop D, and I try to use no more than two bass adjustments per set.) He sent me FOUR possible set lists, which looked quite disjointed and awkward, bless him. I can see he's trying different tactics so I'm trying to be open to a new methodology without sacrificing little things like flow and story line.

We'll be driving out tomorrow though we don't play until Saturday. They're putting us up in a dorm which, I hope, will be a better experience than the last dorm accommodation. (I'm so clever with my links lately, have you noticed?) (later note: whoops, the link has been corrected. Heh heh.)

I managed to put off most productive things I could have done today except to go to Rose's and do a bunch of laundry. Maybe it was the heat. The heat, the stress, the impending move to -- ?? To console myself I made a rather excellent dinner, except for slightly overcooking the shrimp, and watched my DVD of Sliding Doors again. Later, after a lot of channel surfing, I discovered that Legally Blond was on, and I watched it again. It, like, totally cheered me up! What a silly little movie, and how amazing that I felt better after watching it than I have probably in weeks. Because I always watch tv with headphones now (don't even ask; it just evolved), whenever I see a funny movie I wonder what my neighbors must think of this complete silence punctuated by random guffawing. So far, no one has asked.

My jasmine is blooming profusely, though the spider mites are coming back. I'll wait until the blooms are finished before I give it another shower; otherwise they'll all fall off before they've opened. Jasmines are so fragile, and so intoxicating. They're my favorite flower.

I expect I'll leave by one tomorrow. In choosing what to wear for these two sets, I have painted my toenails a stunning, bright sea blue. If that doesn't cheer me, I don't know what will.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!