Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


July 07, 2004

9:18 p.m.

What Is the Sound of Two Mice Yawning?

A short entry to balance the last, interminable one. We played outside a lovely museum in a local town tonight, attended by a surprisingly large mob. We accommodated more requests than in any other single night, and a lot of fans seem to have brought new people.

And yet, we only sold a handful of CDs. Figure that out.

I was tired; this afternoon I was still beleaguered from my two nights of little sleep. It sobers me to see how my body can't deal with that any more, like the feeling of being tipsy. Just can't do it.

Our next gig is a big festival in Vermont, this weekend. I hope we rock.

********

Dar called me last night, having found the animated Triplets of Bellville on Comcast's "On Demand" rental menu. I rented it forthwith, though he was about halfway through it already. He hadn't seen it before. It was even better, for me, this second time. An absolutely darling and brilliant film, which only the French could have made.

I also saw part of a documentary on Galileo, whose life story is amazing and heartbreaking. Imagine going before the Inquisition just because you've figured out that the Earth isn't in the middle. I learned that, in 1992 or '94 or something like that, the Pope finally, formally apologized for banning his book and ruining his life. Hey, thanks a lot, Padre. A little late.

********

Tired now. Sciatica's back a little. Heart lonely.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!