Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


June 20, 2004

9:52 a.m.

Oh, and a Song

My brother in law has been out of town all week -- in Kansas, continuing to deal with executor type stuff since his grandfather died -- so Rose and I are spending the weekend doing all sorts of fun things. I feel so grateful that we're close. Sometimes we look at each other and say, "You'd better die first, because I don't know what I'd do without you." "No, YOU have to die first, because I don't want to be left here by myself!" So we decided we'll just have to go together.

Meanwhile we're living it up. We did errands yesterday and went out for sushi, after a 15 mile bike ride with her neighbor Leslie. No blood sugar crash after the ride, incidentally. And, Rose being the N.P. that she is, is going to lend me a glucose-testing thingy we had when mom was living here, so if I get crashy I can see if that's the problem.

We also went to Target (pronounced Tar-zhay, of course) to look for superfluous flipflops. I found some absolutely frivolous and wonderful black, Japanese, platform flipflops with sort of a bamboo top but the bands over the foot are embroidered with red silk. The bottoms are contoured in such a way that they taper up to the toe, so one doesn't clop when one walks, so much as roll forward. Ten bucks. Then we went to the deadly Pier 1 and bought excess candles, I got the perfect throw for my red couch, and Rose got a vase and some never-die poppies for the newly renovated and decorated Lodge.

Today, Indian grocery, file cabinet, the walking of the hound, and possibly a visit to the tattoo institute to look at designs. Something fiery, I think; I wonder if there's a Sanskrit symbol for communication?

Oh, and I wrote a song this week. As Kramer would say, "Giddyup!"


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!