Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


June 16, 2004

12:13 p.m.

Schmig

Our gig yesterday was a little rusty, but then, we were playing at the Southbury Training School, which is actually a residence for Downs Syndrome and retarded folks, so I don't think anyone else noticed that it was not our most stellar performance. It was outside and open to the public, so there were a few regulars there as well. Carol�s old bass player friend, Don, was visiting from L.A. with his girlfriend, and they showed up for the 2nd set, and I was so nervous about that that my very first bass note that I ever played in front of him (and I copped a lot of his parts, too, from her albums) was inescapably wrong. Argh! Flash onto worst playing nightmare, blowing bass notes in front of Will! I hope I got it out of my system.

Carol also forgot that Chris needed to bring his 8-channel board to augment the 6-channel board the school could provide, so we only had six working channels (an impossibility) until the student who was helping with sound offered to bike home and get his 12-channel board. It cut our sound check time to the minute, but we decided it was the only way to go, so he pedalled off. It saved the day.

Other than that, occasionally someone with squinty eyes and big teeth would try to come up onto the stage, and one elderly woman with double hearing aids just LOVED Chris and kept coming up to him with a big snaggly grin, wanting to wave her hands around and flirt with him. Each time, someone with a normal sized head would rush up and gently coax them away. Someone else on the patio behind us had brought a tambourine, and enjoyed playing it arhythmically on every song (including all the ballads).

Anyway I think we got $900 for that bizarre gig, so hey! It was worth it!

Rehearsal was postponed from today to tomorrow, to all our relief. Don & girlfriend stayed with C&C last night, so they wanted time to visit and we all needed to rest. I am having the worst, world-class cramps from Hell, now that I'm finally having a period, and they kept me up much of the night, along with the headache (that emanates from the CENTER of the brain, so pressing on the temples does nothing except make the temples hurt). I took some Premsyn PMS this morning when I was able to have a little food, and it's tolerable now. But I would have been useless at a morning rehearsal. I did want to get up early and bike before it got hot, but no way.

So I'm enjoying the morning instead. I've sat like 3 times in a row now, so am hoping to make it a fixture every day. Much of it is observing how fidgety I am, but it's a start. I recently got a little travel clock (promotional thing from Dell when I bought my computer) that has �soothing sounds� on it as well as various alarm choices. I love the "bong, bong" chime that sounds like a tiny Big Ben, so I use it to signal the end of my sit. It turns out Dar has the exact same clock, which he got as a promo from American Express. The standard, cheap, pre-wrapped, all-purpose tchotchke (spelling correct, courtesy of bindyree). "We can never go to war with China," he said. "We'd lose all our gifts!"

I think Will comes home today. I just know he had an excellent week. I sent him an email inviting him to July 3rd fireworks, and a cookout at Rose and Mike�s. Now JT�s song keeps looping through my head about how he and Caroline had their first date on the 4th. It always makes me cry.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!