Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


June 07, 2004

9:56 p.m.

Wrap Me Up and Mail Me to Heaven

My first thought this morning was of Suni. My second thought was of the apa-a-a-a-artment. My third thought was of Will bonking the crap out of me. By then I figured it was time to get up.

Except I couldn't remember why I'd set the alarm. I had no idea what day it was or what I had planned. Last night I'd only slept about half an hour when I awoke with the worst burning stomach I've ever had. I guess I was more wrought over Suni than I'd realized. It wasn't like reflux at all, just like I'd swallowed a branding iron -- so bad that my back ached. I couldn't move or get comfortable. It took about an hour, a big fat antacid and some baking soda in water before things calmed down. Meanwhile I folded laundry and read the last issue of Tricycle which Rose gave me. Finally I felt a lot better and went *poof* back to sleep around 3am -- resulting in this morning's disorientation. I felt pretty good though, so I just lay there running through possibilities until I came upon the right guess -- rehearsal day.

For once it was mostly about making music, and we worked extensively on the two remaining "new" pieces from last summer. I'm really pleased with how they're coming. One is a triptych -- portraits of three people I worked with a few years ago, when I built circuit boards for a living. The other is a little love song having to do with dogs, or a dog song having to do with love. It was inspired by Richard Dreyfus. I tuned in to some movie of his once, where he was rowing a little boat in the dark, and his dog was in the boat with him. He was saying to the dog, "See, dogs fall in love with the seasons. But people? We fall in love with nothing. Then when it all goes wrong, we fall in love with the pain. That's where I am right now; in love with the pain." At the time I was experiencing some of that way that we fall in love with who we think someone is, without finding out about them first, which results in dissapointment and misplaced bitterness. It's certainly been a theme in my life. How many times have I suffered from a case of mistaken identity? I think I'm just starting to do things differently.

The one business thing that was hanging over my head at the end of the day was this whole bulk email problem. Chris and I were going to have a conference call tomorrow morning with our website hosting company to try to switch the sending of our newsletter over to them, and I was dreading it because you always have to wait an eternity for tech support and it was all so confusing. But about an hour after I got home, Chris called having figured it all out, and got me set up with a new email account through the alternate server. I then set up my bulk-mail software to go through the server from the new email address, and voila!!!! A thousand emails sent, no problem. That's the limit per day, so tomorrow I have a few more to send. Now all I'll have to do is process a shitload of returns. But it was a load off my mind.

I was about to shower when I heard my upstairs neighbor Bob and my downstairs neighbor Gary talking outside, with Gary's kids. I went down to join them and we got to talk about how unfriendly everyone ELSE in the complex is besides our little section, as our newer upstairs neighbor Jeff came out and we all introduced ourselves. I observed how Gary's 6 year old loves to misbehave and do absolutely everything he's told not to do. He's missing his two front teeth now, which, he proudly announces, he pulled out himself. I wondered when they're going to Russia for the summer.

It was cool and moist and breezy. Bob said the weather was going to turn icky tomorrow. Sadly, it's supposed to be in the mid nineties the next two days and humid, so Will and I may not be able to ride comfortably on Wednesday after all, or even walk. It may be another inside visit, eating fruit and sour cream and letting the air conditioner suck electricity. I wonder if there's someplace else I could take him that's inside. I'll have to mull it over. I don't even know how much time he'll have.

I have a vested interest in getting to bed earlier tonight. Sleep is good when you're not on fire. One cup of Tazo Calm tea later, I think I'm about ready to wrap it up.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!