Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


May 30, 2004

8:42 p.m.

The Life We Choose

A day in the country. New Hampshire, to be specific. A boy scout reservation near Concord. A perfectly sunny day with a pristine blue sky and brisk wind. A bunch of sober people, a stage, a handful of vendors, and us.

We seem to be edging our way into this Soberfest circuit -- this is the 2nd one we've played, and booked by the same people. It's always a great time; I think that most everyone being in recovery is a bonding factor, so there's a lot of history and deep feeling underlying the simple enjoyment of music, food and a lovely day. I'm at once amused and somehow comforted by the prevalence of tie-dye, tattoos and long gray hair in ponytails. Maybe a little part of me stayed in the 70s. Plus when we pull out a traditional Scottish lullabye, then rock it up and weave in a segment from "Suite: Judy Blue Eyes," everybody gets it, and loves it!

It was a little rough, though; we're just not used to playing festivals and between sound adjustments, Chris's broken string and my slightly broken nail, I wouldn't say the set went smoothly. We need to work on flow in these situations. Also there was a gasoline-powered generator by the stage, and the wind was just right to send a few fumes across where we were standing, and I breathed that for an hour or more. No good for singing.

Anyway I was glad when it was over. We stayed for most of a friend's set afterwards, and then headed home. It's been chilly the last couple of days, though sunny. Yesterday I rode for 2 hours and was so cold by the time I got home, I developed a sore throat later on. Doesn't look too bad though, merely annoying.

********

Carol invited me to go to Northampton tomorrow to a huge, semi-annual arts and crafts fair. She went last year and said it's very high end. Although it's hard for me to get my ass out of this apartment on any day when I don't HAVE to, I said I'd meet her in Bloomfield at 10:30 and we'd go in one car. Should be fun -- but it's going to be in the 50s according to one forecast, so I'm definitely wearing a scarf and bundling up a little.

It reminds me that we almost never get to do un-band things together, since we're always going to a gig or rehearsing. It's like seeing them out of uniform.

********

I can't wait to see Will. A week from Wednesday, folks. I looked back in my calendar, and the last time I saw him was when he stopped by here on Friday, February 13th. Within a couple of weeks he was in the hospital for his two-month stay. I just can't imagine what he looks like now.

********

Galina's little kids downstairs always say hello to me now. I wave and call them by name. I think they must be very curious about me. Galina calls, "Welcome back!" from the walkway. She often walks them to the little pond on the other side of the parking lot. I noticed yesterday that they don't open any of their blinds. They're on the first floor and totally at the mercy of outside scrutiny, as each of their few windows faces either the parking lot or the walkway into the courtyard. There's no privacy if anyone's passing by. I have a feeling the apt. is a wreck, too, full of toys. I just thought of this semi-dark apartment that's too disorganized to get tidy, and I got a wave of compassion for them. I don't wonder why they're unhappy sometimes. As Carol would say, "One of the lives we didn't choose."

********

Today's word is actually a name; she is, in Norse mythology, the goddess of Spring, keeper of the golden apples of youth, and wife of Bragi, god of poetry and eloquence. Thought I should give a nod to her before Summer starts a-cumin' in already.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!