Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


May 19, 2004

10:43 a.m.

Ginger Cakes

I've spent the morning printing pictures for our friends Jonnie and Calvin in Texas, which we took when we were there in March. I'm sending Jonnie my old digital camera (I'll be she's forgotten I promised it to her) and Calvin the photos, though I still have to get nice frames. I love sending people stuff! If I had lots of money I'd do it all the time.

Our rehearsal today was put off until noon. We made a lot of headway yesterday on the DVD -- Carol and I looked through the interview footage, and I was relieved to see that, on occasion, I looked lovely and sounded intelligent. There were also plenty of very spastic takes that were utterly worthy of a Christopher Guest film, and overall I disliked what I did with my hair. This growing out business is just dorky. Then we chose song segments, and since yesterday Chris has mocked up something that we can play with. The guy who filmed it all isn't available to work with Chris until tomorrow, though, so we won't be able to do anything else with it until next week. We're leaving tomorrow evening, until either Sunday or Monday.

Our Sunday gig looks cancelled, but as we're in Williamsburg, VA on Saturday, I'm going to bring some of mom's ashes and scatter them somewhere in the vicinity of the Colonial Village. A few years before she died, when she was still living in Georgia, we planned a visit where we each drove to Williamsburg and met there, so neither of us would have to go the whole way. It was a great idea; we spent a couple of days together, then went home. I thought some of her would like to be there. Some of her is also in Barbados, Ghana, and San Diego.

By the way, Williamsburg Colonial Village also has the best, I'm talking about THE best, ginger cakes in the entire world. They're actually like big, thick gingerbread cookies. I buy several dozen, bring them home and freeze them. I have this chance possibly once every year and a half or two years. Maybe this time I should just ask if the recipe is in one of their Olde Fashioned Receipt Bookes.

I was so domestically productive Monday, I just about didn't recognize myself. While waiting for my car to be repaired to the tune of almost $300 (wahhhhhhh, I might as well be making a caaaaaaaar payment), I

a) replaced a broken zipper in a gig dress I haven't been able to wear for a year and a half at least;

b) patched the butt of some very favorite, ancient, comfy lounging type pants, which also haven't worn in a couple of years;

c) grilled some ginger lime chicken on the Foreman grill; and

d) made a pillowcase for my new travel pillow.

Oh, and e) cleaned up mess resulting from all of the above.

And now I have to leave in 1/2 hour. I s'pose I'll get into the shower and stubbornly continue not thinking about why Will hasn't called. Definitely not thinking about nasty ex-girlfriend trying to convince him to come back to her. For SURE not entertaining idea that he'd ever entertain the idea. Hmf, nope, not thinking about any of that. No need to make stuff up.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!