Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


May 15, 2004

11:44 a.m.

Poem for My Sister

Middle Child

My brother was trouble early,
a crooked mile that never straightened.
Perhaps that is why my sister
was more the first child;
hers never was
a middle road.

I was her first charge,
the precedent which so many
other fortunates followed.
I learned to read before kindergarten
and understood fractions
from her smart white nub of chalk.

She explained kneesocks
when mom still wore anklets;
she let me play with her
Beatles records, and trusted me
with her horse collection.
She
explained girl things I didn�t
learn from mom
and, later, when she learned to play the guitar
we sang songs together
for our parents� company.

She did all things first,
and at two and a half years behind
I,
the youngest child,
had a perfect teacher.

Thus time passed, and I
traversed my rich inner life
into adolescence.

Michigan.

The snowbound years were horrid
as only a thirteen year old can know.
Through no fault of mine, my mother
no longer understood me
and had inexplicably become
embarrassing.

My father was at work, or busy
ruining his career with drink.

My overachieving, perfect sister
had somehow joined forces with all those
adults who felt I was out of whack.
Her bed was always made;
her grades were always good.
Her insults stung when we clashed, and no one
cared that my so-called best friend
got the boyfriend I wanted
made fun of my clothes
pulled posters down from my room
and once we started school
left this geek for cooler crowds.

I would lie awake at night
and fantasize about Spock.
I would imagine that he�d found his feelings
and cried for love of me.


One day after a particularly bad argument
I was sitting in the tv room
and my sister was sewing.
Quietly she said, I�m sorry
for what I said earlier.
I didn�t mean it.

My father never said, I�m sorry
I�m a drunk.
My best friend never said,
I�m sorry I made you a pariah.

But my sister did all things first,
and it was she who reached out her hand
and bridged the rift.

I took it.


Now we are middle aged
and the two and a half years between us
are a blink.

She is the closest thing to my skin
without being skin,
the closest thing to confession
outside of a church.

There is very little room for maybe in her life.
First child by default,
she knows what she wants
and doesn�t feel the need
to postpone joy.

She still takes in charges;
a Polish boy looking for a new life in the States;
a young woman waiting for a kidney transplant;
a friend between jobs and ports of sanity;
and, more than once,
me.

Her life as caregiver
began at a chalkboard in Virginia
and continued through nursing school
and my mother�s bedside.
It took her to Africa
where she�s helped save lives.

It takes her every weekend
to scrubbing kennels so that
the homeless will present well
to people wanting pets.

She�s still there with the chalk
when I need clarification;
she feeds me endless dinners
and opens the door
and the washing machine
at all times.
She advocates, aids and abets my
extroardinarily bizarre
lifestyle
although in some ways we couldn�t be
more different:

One the rock, practical, stable and grounded,
one the river, restless, winding and wild,
together we balance the Universe
and keep the stars from flying off their courses.

Though I am at an open-handed loss
to begin to know
how to repay
this love,

when she comes to a gig and
looks at me with that look
and says, I can�t believe you�re my sister,
all I can think is,
I can�t believe you�re mine.



owned by author; please don't duplicate.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!