Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


May 07, 2004

8:58 p.m.

Long Ride

I think someone should invent a little earflap device that can hook onto a bicycle helmet, where a clear plastic wind-blocking panel comes down in front of each ear. Not over the ear, but just in front, close at the temple and fanning out to the back, as if one were cupping one's hand in front of the ear. This would allow the happy cyclist, speeding down the rail trail, to hear such things as waterfalls and birds and other riders coming up from behind, without all that wind noise whooshing by.

Bike Girl went for a 2 hour and 40 minute ride today, and I got all the way to Bolton Lake, to my surprise. Boy, are my legs tired.

I'm going to stop at Vernon Cycle soon and ask Bicycle Boy whether he has a bell that goes, "Ching, ching." I've startled more than one walker into a sideways leap by calling, "Coming up on your left!" at the last moment when I thought the wind wouldn't fling my little voice backwards. A bell would be so much friendlier.

Tomorrow is our Take Carol Out for Surprise Evening day, then Sunday through Thursday I'll be occupied and then away at gigs, so I'm trying to make the most of down time while I can. Plus it's supposed to rain the next couple of days.

Aside from getting a huge amount of exercise, I've been organizing my poems for the volume my sister and I are trying to put together. I seem to have close to 30 poems, plus 14 sonnets and a handful of fridge poetry which has merit in its own right. I think she has about the same. Mike had the idea of taking the lot to their poetry teacher at the local college (the one responsible for opening the door to Rose's genius) and letting him suggest edits or give feedback. I think that's a great idea; from all she said about him, he's an excellent and inspiring teacher. Plus he might have ideas about how to go about self-publishing.

I'm actually watching the last half of Nosferatu right now, so I'm going to get back to that... it's wonderful in a creepy, historical kind of way... they really filmed so differently back then (1922!), and I'm enjoying the duality of observing the acting and filming style from a 21st Century p.o.v., while getting into the more emotional, audience-as-participant role. Kind of like life.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!