Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


May 04, 2004

10:24 p.m.

Poem for Will

Madison


Madison, Wisconsin is chilly
and spitting rain
on this Tuesday afternoon.
One would hardly believe
it is Spring.

But I know without looking
that a crocus blooms in my sister's yard
in Connecticut
and the crabapple is preparing
to bud.

Thinking about crocuses I wonder
about those under the driveway
that won't be coming up this year.
Life is so busy
I'll wager she never dug them up
before they paved.

Their lives were a gamble anyway
as guests always parked on the old gravel
where they lifted their purple heads
and the blooms could be hard to see.

But the ones that live still live
and the proof of life and God
is not diminished
by the loss of a flower.

This is the law of gardens.

Because the paved-over bulbs won't die exactly,
but become part of the secret
alchemy
of soil, in cahoots with worms
and perhaps a hungry vole or two
who will be glad to discover
an unexpected gift.


On the way to Madison
hurtling down I-90 under cloudy skies
I kept boredom at bay
with tunes and strong peppermint gum
and the wild unrepeatable imaginings
of my mind.
When those failed to serve, AJ phoned home
for messages, and a
mutual friend told me the inconceivable
had finally occurred.
Your long wait was over.

I choked some words into the walkie talkie
and my bandmates and I pulled over
into a gas station
to gape round-eyed at the moment
and get our minds around

the saw that cut compassionately
through your sternum
the hooked needles that lovingly
mended your vessels
the pump that carried your blood
in that brief interim
when, for the only time in your life
you were heartless

and the weight of all I'd carried
crumbled like pillars
and softened in the Wisconsin rain.


While Madison spits rain
and I think about crocuses
I also ponder your brand new heart,
small and strong and bursting
with a song of Spring,

this bold, fragile flower
replanted in your chest
by barter,
life for life --

because they operated under the law
of gardens, where when someone cries
for a loved one gone
you welcome back, like an old friend,
the laughing breath
of a new day.



owned by author; please don't duplicate.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!