Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 29, 2004

7:39 p.m.

Sore Butt

No, it's not sore from farting, for heaven's sake. PLEASE, don't pigeonhole me as some eighteenth-century French music hall typecast! I'm more versatile than that! (I know, I used a noun as a verb and a verb as a noun. Get over it.) For your information, I rode Fly today for TWO, count 'em on both hands, two, hours this afternoon. Spectacular cycling day. I see major sunblock in my future and I'm toying with the goal of riding all the way to Willimantic by end of summer. I have no idea how many miles it is, but I used to live in Willimantic and it takes about 40 minutes to drive there. Of course the rail trail might be more direct. It doesn't matter; I like the mystery of not knowing.

Ever since my friend Jonnie (of Jonnie and Calvin fame, Austin, TX) said she loved the sight of sheer curtains blowing in a breeze and that's why she has them all over the house, I've loved them too. It's the sort of breezy Spring night where the windows are open partway and the curtains are doing their dance. And actually my butt is no longer sore, although more than an hour on that seat (and it's supposed to be a super duper specially shaped and padded number, too) "makes it so," as Picard would say. I'll have to see what the young man who hasn't seen much trouble yet because he's too young who works at the bicycle store has to say about other seat options. "What can you recommend for my butt?" I'll ask. "Specifically, do you have a seat that delivers more comfort in the perineal area? And there's also that moistness factor, y'know, from the sweating." I doubt he's ever even heard the word perineal. People just don't use that word any more. They're too busy saying "different than" instead of "different from," and putting their blasted apostrophes into "it's" when they mean the possessive "its." How can I be expected to keep up on bike seats and tender female anatomy in the face of such grammatical entropy? I ask you.

Let's change the subject. I spent over $100 at Wild Oats today. I think it's a record. But my larder was empty save for a few cans of garbanzos, some cereal, perhaps an apple, and one lone free range egg from runningaround chickens. Now it's quite full, thanks, of all my favorite things including several canisters of Tazo tea that were way on sale, burgeoning green leafies, a backup stash of Edensoy worthy of a Mormon's pantry, yogurt galore and seven overpriced apricot oat bars, which have been out of stock for months. Well, six oat bars; I ate one for lunch. D'OH -- I forgot to get eggs.

I wonder what Bicycle Shop Boy has in his larder. Let me guess: peanut butter, popcorn, frozen pizza, beer, ice cream... no, wait a minute. He's Bicycle Boy. He goes the distance. Peanut butter, balance bars, spaghetti, meat sauce, cheese, leftover Chinese. Some bread involving grainy bits and possibly oat bran. Maybe a head of broccoli. Some part of a frozen casserole his mom brought over.

And, I imagine, one of those freezable/microwaveable hot/cold pack thingies for when his butt is sore after a long day's ride.

********

I saw Ukranian Neighbor outside as I was coming back. She said she didn't recognize me, and called me Sporty Girl. (I'm rather disguised in the helmet, grunge clothes, gloves.) We chatted for a couple of minutes; the baby was on a tricycle and the seven year old was on a bike. She was really dressed up for some reason; black spandex top with flashy silver necklace, tight red spandex pants, makeup. This was no Pizza Hut outfit. I wondered where she was going later, and as I came inside I realized that, once again, I'd forgotten to ask her name.

********

Addendum: thanks to olive4ever for helping me find this link to le farteur!


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!