Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 26, 2004

7:16 p.m.

Foggy, Foggy Night

I have that almost pleasant, sleepy feeling one gets when one has had only four consecutive hours of sleep the night before, owing to one's sister's cat coming in and landing upon one at approximately 4:30am, and insisting on kneading one's arms and legs and flopping all over one in an effort to be petted. After some time of this, one finally put the cat out and shut the door, and fortunately one's earplugs prevented one from hearing much of the resulting complaints from the hallway.

However, not much more sleep was had after that. Having foregone the nap I swore I'd get today, I'm hoping for an earlier night.

So I "went to work" this morning around 9:30 -- not bad! I'm often not even out of bed by then -- and stopped on the way to mail a lot of press kits I picked up yesterday from the band's house, as they (the band, not the press kits) were too rushed and frantic to get to the P.O. before leaving for other parts. Once home I managed to spend about 2-1/2 hours discovering that I can no longer send our mass-emailed newsletter from Comcast. Spam blocking and antivirus tactics now prevent me from reaching the approximately 1,600 people who have signed up to get our monthly schedule. So I've been investigating a software that could handle all that -- but I hadn't factored the learning curve into my timetable, so it did not go out today as planned. After several other tangential things went bonk, I finally gave up in frustration and turned to the postcard mailings I had to cut and stamp, and a couple of other smaller things. Having accomplished them, and having been away from the dog for 6 hours, I thought I'd come home and let her out -- after snagging a little lunch at home, because I was by then starving. One more trip to the P.O. to drop off the mailings (Will's postcard was in there; I had a terrible urge to draw hearts all over it, but resisted) and I was OFF DUTY.

The rest of the day has been unusually work-free. Well, I'm not at work, am I? So I watched television, played with Lucy the hound, scritched Linus the cat, scooped kitty poops out of the litter box, called a friend in California, squished about thirty ants in a slightly un-Buddhist way (my part to help control the kitchen infestation), and eventually made dinner. Silhouette (makers of the Skinny Cow ice cream sandwiches) now makes THE finest lowfat tubbed ice cream in the world, chocolate peanut butter cookie dough, and I had some for dessert. Now I'm all dopey from lack of sleep and the abundance of sugar.

Tonight the cat sleeps outside the bedroom. Mike says he usually hunkers down on some sweater of his or something that's been dropped on the floor, so maybe I'll find something of his to leave out in the hall so Linus won't make such a fuss. I don't know how Rose does it; she's so picky about getting her sleep, yet she claims she's never minded the nocturnal feline visits. It would drive me buggy.

I used to think I'd get a pet one day; now I'm not so sure. Maybe I like it being just me.

zzzzzzz...zzzzzsnarkg -- wha-? Oh, sorry. I fell asleep for a minute. Jeez, I wish I had something pithy to say. But the truth is, I'm just keeping myself company here. Don't really know what else to do. No wonder I work all the time. I've forgotten how to stop. And everything I'm thinking of writing about just seems redundant to the last six months of entries. Let's revisit my life, shall we? Here are the major topics:

1) Will. Well? Will we or won't we?

2) Lebensraum. Living space. I'm hoping to move to a quieter place before I'm 50.

3) It's been approximately two and a half lifetimes since I got laid.

4) Had some computer frustration today.

5) I play in a band, we tour a lot, and we're fabulous. I'm trading financial security and a social life for the career of my dreams.

6) Will. Will got a new heart. Did I mention Will?

7) I don't always get a lot of sleep.

I guess that about sums it up. I guess I've been hauling this resume around for a while, eh? Maybe I'll pull up Google and look for something new to write about next time. (Yawn)


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!