Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


April 13, 2004

12:46 a.m.

Rampant Food Cravings!

I'm exhausted. My mind doesn't quite know how tired my body is yet. I still need to shower the wax out of my hair and the sparkly stuff off my skin. It's a good thing we were too naive to know how ambitious we were tonight. Still, I think it went off okay -- it was fun to have this great boom camera in front of us, moving around like something out of Star Wars, and two more guys with hand cameras weaving in and out and around us, so at any moment some great big eye could be floating up to one, when one is already concentrating on so many other things. I think we'll get our promotional DVD out of this, although it'll take a lot of sorting through files to determine whether there's a full-length, sellable product there.

We arrived at 4:00 for a 7:30 show, and were hard pressed to start even then. There was a vast amount of setup -- not just the room, but a lot of sound equipment, and Chris brought his computer from home so he could record in 16 tracks with ProTools at the same time. We hired someone who works at that location to run lights, so we had specific looks for different songs. We'll have to go back into the studio and fix a few bass notes here and there, but I think we got most of it. And the audience, bless their hearts, played their parts with enthusiasm, even when we had to repeat sections or whole songs. They applauded hugely and laughed in all the right places (just as we asked them to).

My sister wasn't able to come because one of the dogs is still sick, and she went home with a big stack of charts still to do. That was too bad -- I always love it when she comes to a gig. Makes me feel better. Anyway, my actress friend Joan was there and I hadn't seen her in ages. We made a phone appointment for next Thursday because we just can't get together -- she's away this weekend, as am I, and then she's gone for 6 weeks to do a show somewhere. So the phone it is.

I only ate twice today -- some lunch thing I can barely remember, and then I brought a small tuna sandwich for dinner. So when I got home I was STARVED. Remember the pizza craving from yesterday? I must have still been protein-deprived, because DANGER WILL ROBINSON! DANGER! here's what I wanted:

1 leftover turkey burger pattie (already cooked, with sauteed chopped mushrooms and onion inside it), heated under broiler and topped with

1 half-fried egg, and

1 layer of muenster cheese,

then put back under the broiler until the egg cooks and the cheese melts.

I was talking to Dar as I was contemplating making this and I said, "Is this just too weird? Turkey burger with an egg on it, and cheese?" He said it was a little weird. Still, I made it after we hung up and oh my heavens, it was tops. Exactly what I needed. Protein overload, just a bit of saltiness from the cheese, and a runny hot egg yolk dripping over it.

I'd stop short of saying it was a sexy meal, but I will concede that I now know which came first, the turkey or the egg.

********

Now I'm watching the second half of a tv movie about fairies. I wish I'd seen the first half, but I was loading my car in the rain and driving home. I think I have the next 2-1/2 days off, unless the band calls and reminds me of some distasteful work I have to do this week. I spent several hours -- between three and four -- this morning finishing up the blasted PR for Vermont and Virginia -- it was so much more complicated this time for various reasons -- and I was just cursing by the time it was done. I still have to make a big post office run in the morning. But tomorrow Dar is taking me to the Museum of Fine Arts in Boston to see the Gaugin exhibit. So I shall be off doing fun things instead of making up press releases and creating media databases. Haha!!

I have that contented feeling of having gotten something very stressful behind me. It almost deserves a glass of wine, except that it's so late already and I still have to shower, and there is this movie and everything. We'll see what the next moment brings.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!