Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


March 06, 2004

9:00 a.m.

Welcome, Sprite

WELL. This has been a momentous week, I must say. Our new Avalon guitars arrived Thursday and I picked mine up at the band's house yesterday. It's a small body (as my other one is a small jumbo), very sweet and pristine. They made a few errors in the order - these are custom guitars, so we were able to name our options - including forgetting to put on a pick guard (big whoops - they were rather mortified to find that out) and using the wrong tuning pegs, but I've suggested solutions that don't involve sending it back to Northern Ireland. I don't want to send the guitar back. I guess I could, and have them make me another one (the purfling was also the wrong wood), but I loved it in about 5 minutes and I knew I wanted to keep it. By the time I got home I had named it, so it's not possible to part with it now.

What's that? Oh. It's called Puck. I think it's a girl dressed as a boy, actually. My other is called Ganymede (or sometimes Rosalind) so I guess that sort of thing runs in the family. They look gorgeous together, like two sisters. Chris's is the big brother. Carol's is similar to Ganymede only it's not a cutaway. Somehow we'll tell them all apart.

My inner conservationist is alive and well, until I see these old-wood instruments, these wonders of acoustic magic that will never come again, like gatherings of close friends you must enjoy while they last, and then only remember. When I play them softly, I cannot hear the protests of indignant environmentalists.

**********

In other news, I've ordered a new laptop. It's like waiting for Harry's latest new broom to arrive. I expect my Quiddich game will vastly improve.

**********

Taxes almost done, just waiting for some numbers from Carol, and must peek into the closet to complete CD inventory.

Car inspection this morning. CT hasn't done this in a couple of years; I forget why they stopped, but now it's starting up again (new/improved/more convenient) and I'm actually doing it several weeks before the deadline. C'n you imagine?

And so must get ready, or leave in pajamas and bed hair.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!