Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


February 04, 2004

11:55 a.m.

Tedium

After getting to bed about 1:45, and sleeping not nearly enough, I got up this morning to continue working on the computer problem. One of the things Curtis (my momentary technician/boyfriend) said last night was that I might have a virus, even though I have the latest Norton WhizBang Colossal AntiVirus and Computer Sentinel Software, and he gave me a website from which I could scan for bugs. It found two. I was able to delete one, but the other one was said to be "in use" and could not be deleted. By that time I had to go to bed.

This morning the computer was so sluggish it would hardly budge, which is unusual. I tried to download the 30 day trial version of the new antivirus anyway. In retrospect I should have rebooted first because there was a glitch at the very end which may be related to how it was running. When I tried to open the antivirus software, it said my 30 day trial was already expired. That was the fastest month I ever lived -- seemed like about four minutes. Instead I ran Norton from my own computer, and it found nothing. Then I went BACK onto the previous website (trendmicro.com by the way; you can scan for free any time) and scanned again like last night, and it found the remaining trojan virus and I was able to delete it.

Whew. What a pain in the ass, and a waste of a whole morning, not to mention last night.

Now I have to get back to work, because tomorrow we leave again for four days -- unless our Saturday gig is cancelled, in which case I'll go out and come back twice this weekend, which is okay with me. I have a bunch of PR to send out for a DC gig, some booking emails to follow up on, and CDs to mail out, for starters. Oh, and I should shovel out my car, since we had a little snow last night. Tonight my band returns the van and I put all my crap back into my little Honda and bring it home.

Oh Jeez, and I have ALL my tax work to do. Groan.

Cheers.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!