Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


January 05, 2004

9:30 a.m.

Income & Outgo

Although I am the duchess of procrastination (that's slightly less bad than the Queen), I have finally managed to get all my instruments and gear insured for our road trip which, for me, begins January 16th. The rest of the band is coming down in a van, and picking me up on the way as I'll already have flown to Florida for a sisterhood vacation -- and, as my gear will be in the van with them, they insisted that I insure it before we left. It's something I should have done anyway, and the company that ASCAP recommends has incredibly low rates. It required my going into all my cases, including all the stuff that lives in the trunk of my car, copying down serial numbers and coming up with replacement values (and, as it turned out, dates of purchase -- oh, I'm sure I remember all THOSE -- I can't even remember where I lived three years ago) to enter into their online form. So I've finally done all that and am just waiting for confirmation.

So rehearsal today, and I've got to get off my butt or I won't make it out the door.

This memory thing, though -- it's getting so much worse, especially with names. My friend gave me a fabulous CD by (and I'm pausing yet again to dredge up the name) Deb Talan (and I can only remember it by thinking of Little Debbie snack cakes, which I'm sure is disparaging in some way), and I was thinking she was like a combination of a few other artists, and I'd have to go look one of them up to remember her name, and as soon as I came up with Amy Fairchild, I wouldn't be able to remember Deb Talan any more... and then I'd go dig up Lori McKenna's CD to remember HER name (which I can only remember by thinking of Loreena McKennitt), and then Amy would fly out of my head. (Not literally, of course; just her name.) Then next morning I wouldn't be able to remember any of them at all except Loreena McKennit, whose name was only a pathway and really doesn't have anything to do with Deb Talan. If all those synapses are disappearing, by what are they being replaced? WEIRD DREAM FILES??

Okay, enough. I go to rehearsal like a good band member.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!