Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


December 29, 2003

8:51 a.m.

I'll Have the Ruby Slippers

I got to bed around 11:15 last night -- earlier than I've managed in weeks. The headache I've been under for several days seems to have finally lifted, after taking everything under the sun for it short of narcotics. Just in time for the BIG BELATED BIRTHDAY BASH. I haven't worked out my schedule today yet; I only know there's a little too much to do and I don't know where to start. Might be a couple of friends coming in from out of town, so I want to be able to meet them but don't know when they'll be actually getting here. Other than that, dying of hair, grocery shopping for exotic ingredients (Coconut-Red Curry Soup with Butternut Squash and Lime), acquisition of as many inflated balloons as will fit in my little Honda, and allotment of cooking time so the food is more or less ready when it's more or less time to eat.

I wasn't going to even have a party at first because I thought I didn't have enough friends in the area to make it worthwhile. (Yes, I DO have friends; they're just scattered all over the country.) But now there are 15 people coming and I'm actually nervous. I'm a recluse at heart, good at one-on-one but quiet in a crowd. Whee, Bornearly, steppin' out! At least I don't have a headache.

I guess wearing the Fuckme shoes that I've had in the closet for three years and never worn yet is kind of out of the question. For this crowd. Not being the Emmys and all.

That just reminded me of the dream I had last night about looking in my closet and realizing I hardly had any good shoes. I have gig shoes, which I only wear for gigs so they won't wear out, and cross trainers galore. Otherwise, though, I have sort of a Character Shoe clone which is a little Dorothy (again, had them for years, hardly worn... and I'm no longer Dorothy, unless she's a little dykey-looking now), and the aforementioned F.m. shoes, neither of which really get worn because... well, because they're not exactly right. It would just be typical of me, with all I have to get done today, to suddenly decide I MUST rectify the shoe situation, and spend an hour and a half looking for a new pair (Fashion Bug MUST be having a sale -- something in a sparkly red, perhaps?) -- then panic because I'm running late. I think I'm trying not to face the loadedness of the day. After all the planning, now Will might come out if he's feeling up to it, and that's about all I can think of. I haven't seen him since September. Maybe the shoes thing is so I'll be distracted in case he decides not to show. God, I want to see him though. I want to see him more than anything. Even ruby slippers.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!