Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


December 07, 2003

12:40 a.m.

Here's something I found from an old photo shoot.

Cool, eh?

We're still in the grip of the storm. It's supposed to continue all day tomorrow. In spite of the weather we went to my sister's house for my brother in law's belated birthday party, which was going to be at the VFW but so many were coming from afar, they cancelled it because of the weather. We're close by, though, so we had a grand dinner with just a few people, plenty of great wine, fun with dogs, and everyone had to try on my sister's hat. Not everyone can wear hats; I look pathetic in most of them. But this was a hat that everyone could wear, so we passed it around the table and men and women both had to model it. Someone had given her a bottle of wine with a sort of fake fur collar on it -- I don't know how else to describe it, but it velcroed around the bottle and a little pearl loop went over the end of the neck. We found various ways to model that as well, some of them rather naughty. All in all it was worth the slippery drive. After I got home, I did quite a bit of shoveling so the plow (I hope) won't plow me in tomorrow. It's a bit of a gamble in our parking lot.

Tomorrow we have a followup call with our publicist/manager, who also has served as a career consult. We filled out a bunch of questions for her a few months ago, like, what do you want to get out of this band, and where do you see yourselves in 3 years, and how is it on the road, what are your personal goals, musical and otherwise, strong and weak points, talk about writing, etc. It was interesting to go back and look at our original answers, and see how we've already achieved some of the goals, some are still way ahead -- and in other areas, we weren't nearly ambitious enough. It seems like we've come so far in just six months, when we started promoting our last album. I achieved my personal goal of getting out of a writing rut -- very happy with my songs this year, and glad to know I still have it in me.

One thing I did not achieve was getting to bed earlier, like before 1:00am. The bad part is I have to sleep later in the morning, and then I feel like I'm missing out on a lot of the day. At least I'm having fun staying up now, instead of having insomnia because I don't feel fulfilled.

Still, it's time to go to bed.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!