Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Cast of Characters

Mid-January, Rain - January 13, 2012
Almost Midwinter - December 14, 2011
Saturday, Noonish, Sunny - November 05, 2011
October, White - October 31, 2011
October, 2011 - October 04, 2011


December 05, 2003

9:33 p.m.

We're expecting a huge storm tonight, firstborn of the season. Winter shaking its angry head. Our afternoon gig was cancelled for tomorrow, as was my brother-in-law's birthday bash. Day off! Enforced rest! I love it, especially since I'm still nursing this pesky sore throat. I'm gonna spike up my hair and watch movies, drink a lot of tea. Around 4pm I'll switch over to wine; red, Australian, most likely. The Godivas are all gone, but I know there are a few semi-sweet chocolate chips in the freezer... and there's that pile of unread, new books. It is GOOD to live alone.

The band met today and did booking, advertising, networking and a little impromptu photo shoot for a guitar endorsement. Finally we got in about 20 minutes of working on a new song. This is the first weekend we haven't played out in months. I feel all luxurious and slippery, like when I was in school and somehow didn't have any homework at the end of the week. I got home from having dinner out with my bro'-in-law just in time, because the roads were getting slick and the driving was very slow. He picked up a shovel for me, so tomorrow I can dig my car out of the drift.

I had another of those wearing-pajamas-at-a-gig dreams last night. I needed to change clothes (and pee!), but everywhere I went, the doors either didn't close, or didn't lock, or there were curtainless windows everywhere with people outside. It became kind of an office building, and people had come to work, and I was still in my frumpy jammies, with bed hair (kind of like the way I always look at home), going down one hallway after another looking for privacy. WHAT I was doing staying overnight in an office building, I can't say.

I've had so many of these "lack of privacy" dreams I can't even count them. Sometimes they're really angry, where I'm screaming at people to get out of my house. (Dream extras can be so uncooperative, can't they?) I also have a lot of flying dreams, which are usually delightful unless I'm trying to get away from someone evil. Also a fair number of really exquisite sex dreams, which is all right since I have no intimate life whatsoever. (Hm... Could it be all that screaming for people to leave?)

Here are some things I've done for a living: ran a theatre box office; acted professionally in many plays; secretaried, for lawyers, insurance agents, psychiatrists, and the Metropolitan Opera; ran a farm stand; worked at UNICEF in the procurement division (in the pre-computer days); built circuit boards; cleaned houses (WHAT an eye-opener); cleaned apartments of the elderly; framed pictures; served pizza (now we're going WAY back); dressed up in a dirndl, braided my hair and yodeled (I am not making this up) while serving sauerbraten to tourists in the Pacific Northwest; and, once, performed with a partner at a comedy club in Texas. And, of course, made music. Which is what I do now, exclusively. Thank God and Buddha.

I hope you are all tucked in, wherever you are, safe in your nest and unaware of the storm outside.


|

previous - next


free hit counter

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!